National Hockey League

English: NationalHockeyLeague, NHL, French: LigueNationaledeHockey, LNH, is a North American ice hockey team composed by a professional sports league. NHL is the world’s highest level of professional hockey game, as one of four major North American professional sports. Teams divided into eastern and western regions, each region was divided into three partitions.


Union in 1917 in Montreal, Quebec, was established inception five teams, after a series of extensions, now a total of 30 teams, 23 in the United States, seven in Canada. Because the players strike in the entire 2004-2005 season was canceled after a successful alliance with the 2005-2006 regular season and the 2006 Stanley Cup playoffs.
Traditionally, since the league’s Canadian descent, most of the players are Canadian. Compared to the United States to actively expand its high standards and other Union and Eastern Europe after the fall of the Iron Curtain ready-made high-level output to the players, the players in Europe and the United States has a significant number of players increasing trend in the NHL. Even so, the list of players in the 2005-2006 season, half of the players are still in the Canadian-born.