NHL Award History: Maurice “Rocket” Richard

Almost certainly by far the most naturally born objective scorer of his generation, Rocket is remembered for the quite a few records he broke, can Alex Ovechkin turn into the greatest of his generation?

The Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy is awarded annually to the major NHL goal scorer within the common season(click nhl 17 coins). The trophy is among the league’s newest trophies to be won as the Montreal Canadiens donated it to the NHL inside the 1999 season.

In contrast to other person awards that will be won, the Richard Trophy has no tiebreaker, meaning that several players can win it in any provided season, which has occurred twice, among the instances saw it getting won by three unique players.

The first player to win the award was playing for the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim at the time, Teemu Selanne. The Finnish Flash scored 46 ambitions in 75 games played to claim it throughout the 1999 season. It has been won 17 times by 12 various players.

The legend of Maurice “Rocket” Richard
The Rocket has an extraordinary NHL history and should you haven’t place two and two together however, it’s named soon after Maurice Richard, merely put, for the reason that of his raw aim scoring capability.

He spent his complete 18 season profession with the Montreal Canadiens, in which he led the complete league in goals scored 5 times(click nhl coins). He was also the initial player in NHL history to hit the 500-goal milestone and was also the initial player to reach the 50-goal plateau (doing so in only 50 games) in one season during the 1944/45 campaign.

He retired in 1960 as the league’s all-time leader in objectives scored with 544. He was a one-time Hart Trophy recipient, played in 13 NHL All-Star Games and was named to 14 post-season NHL All-Star Teams. This man won the Stanley Cup eight instances all through his profession and was also component of the 1955 to 1960 consecutive winning group captaining the group for four of those cups.

Richard can be a member in the Hockey Hall of Fame and was not too long ago listed as among the NHL’s one hundred Greatest Players of all-time.

Alex Ovechkin
Because the trophy is fairly recent it is tough to just limit it to the 17 times it has been won but for the sake with the award, we’ll see to it, but just consider of all the wins guys like Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux and Gordie Howe would have had.

The trophy has been won a record six occasions by Washington Capitals superstar forward, Alex Ovechkin; 4 of those wins becoming consecutive.

The highest aim total since the introduction in the trophy for the league is 65 by Ovi in the 2007/08 season. The next closest volume of wins is two by Pavel Bure, Jarome Iginla and Steven Stamkos.

Existing Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy winner
The final player to win the honor was Alex Ovechkin inside the 2015/16 season, in which he scored 50 targets for the seventh time. Ovechkin is usually regarded because the most naturally born aim scorer on the contemporary day NHL and can go down in history as one of many ideal of all-time.

He must be capable to crack the prime five in goals by the time his season winds down as he is currently at 550 and counting. Some individuals even make an argument for the concept that Ovi could break the all-time goal-scoring leader, Wayne Gretzky, who scored 894 times throughout his career.

I would prefer to air on the side of caution and say there’s only about a one particular in 100 chance of that in fact taking place, but you movie buffs on the market would retort by saying, “so you are saying there’s a likelihood?” Technically there is, but it’s fairly slim.

Playing style
The Rocket had a special playing style, a single that is replicated by few due to the fact his retirement by guys like Mike Bossy, Gretzky and Ovechkin.

As outlined by the NHL, “Richard transcended the game in which he was a bona fide superstar. All of this was built on his otherworldly talent as a fire-breathing, left-shooting appropriate wing who usually is described as hockey’s most risky player of all time, in the blue line in.”

He skated low to the ice as if he was carrying the weight of his entire team. He prowled about the blue line only to obtain the puck and burst in to the offensive zone from zero to 60 in what probably seemed like 3 seconds. His combined strength, speed and raw goal-scoring capabilities had been in no way observed just before by any individual in the NHL.

It is tough to truly replicate his game currently as the game has just changed over time, but some could make comparisons.

Predicting 2016/17 winner
This year’s race for the Rocket Richard Trophy will be a rather fascinating a single as there are some guys suitable about Sidney Crosby’s current target scoring lead of 33 goals, with all the likes of Jeff Carter, Alex Ovechkin and rookies Auston Matthews and Patrik Laine sniffing about.

I’m going to play it safe and say that Crosby will win the trophy this year, beating rival Alex Ovechkin. I’d even argue that Crosby will crack 50 objectives, but only time will tell.